REPORT OF OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (SPECIAL)

MEETING HELD ON 17 MAY 2004

Chair:

* Councillor Jean Lammiman

Councillors:

- Blann
- Gate (1) Mitzi Green
- * Ann Groves
- * Mary John (3)
- Mary John (J

* Marie-Louise Nolan

John Nickolay (4)

- * Pinkus
- * Seymour
- * Thammaiah

* Denotes Member present

(1), (3), and (4) Denote category of Reserve Member

PART I - RECOMMENDATIONS - NIL

PART II - MINUTES

178. Appointment of Chair:

RESOLVED: To note the appointment under the provisions of Council Procedure Rule 1.1 (xii) at the Annual Council Meeting, held on 13 May 2004, of Councillor Jean Lammiman as Chair of the Committee for the Municipal Year 2004-05.

179. Attendance by Reserve Members:

RESOLVED: To note the attendance of the following duly appointed Reserve Members:-

Ordinary Member

Councillor Ingram Councillor Osborn Councillor Versallion Reserve Member

Councillor Gate Councillor Mary John Councillor John Nickolay

180. Appointment of Vice-Chair:

RESOLVED: To appoint Councillor Mitzi Green as Vice-Chair of the Committee for the Municipal Year 2004-05.

181. Declarations of Interest:

RESOLVED: To note that no declarations of interest were made in relation to the business on the agenda.

182. Arrangement of Agenda:

RESOLVED: That all items on the agenda be considered with the press and public present.

183. <u>Minutes:</u>

RESOLVED: That the minutes of the meeting held on 27 April 2004 be deferred until the next ordinary meeting of this Committee.

184. Establishment of Sub-Committees 2004-05:

Further to the nominations now submitted by the political Groups in respect of this Committee's Sub-Committees and the proposed appointments as Chairs of the Sub-Committees, as then considered, it was,

RESOLVED: That the Scrutiny Sub-Committees be established for the Municipal Year 2004-05 with the membership and Chairs as detailed in the appendix to these Minutes.

(Note to Minute 184: The Committee noted that, further to Recommendation I of its previous meeting of 27 April 2004, the Annual Council Meeting had appointed a one-off Ad-Hoc Audit Committee with limited terms of reference relevant to the approval of the Authority's Accounts in July 2004 to meet a statutory requirement. In anticipation of consideration as to permanent arrangements in respect of these audit functions at its next ordinary meeting, the Committee agreed to re-establish its own Accounts Approval Sub-Committee subject to review of its role at that time in the same context).

(Note: The meeting, having commenced at 7.12 pm, (following a special meeting of the Licensing and General Purposes Committee) closed at 7.18 pm).

(Signed) COUNCILLOR JEAN LAMMIMAN Chair

	SCRUTINY SUB COM	<u>APPENDIX 1</u>			
	(Membership in order of political group nominations)				
	<u>Labour</u>	<u>Conservative</u>	<u>Liberal</u> Democrats		
	(1) ENVIRONMENT AND THE ECONOMY SUB COMMITTEE (7)				
	(4)	(3)			
<u>I.</u> Members	Blann* (CH) Lavingia Lent Miles	Arnold Knowles Seymour			
II. <u>Reserve</u> <u>Members</u>	 Marie-Louise Nolan Dharmarajah Thammaiah Anne Whitehead 	 John Nickolay Janet Mote Vina Mithani 			

(2) HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE SUB-COMMITTEE (7)

(3)

(4)

<u>l.</u> Members	Ann Groves Lavingia Marie-Louise Nolan* (CH) Thammaiah	Myra Michael* Vina Mithani Versallion

II. **Reserve** Members

1. Blann 2. Mitzi Green 3. Toms 4. Gate

Jean Lammiman
 Mrs Joyce Nickolay
 Pinkus

Adviser (Non-Voting):-

Dr. S. Ahmad - Director of Public Health, Harrow Primary Care Trust

(3) LIFELONG LEARNING SUB-COMMITTEE (11) (5) (5) (1) Mary John Jean Lammiman Members Nana Asante (Vacant) Gate Mitzi Green* (CH) **Janet Mote*** John Nickolay Lent Marie-Louise Nolan Osborn 1. Vina Mithani II. 1. Blann Reserve 2. Lavingia 2. Aniana Patel 3. Anne Whitehead 3. Mrs Bath Members 4. Dharmarajah 4. Kara 5. Kinsey 5. -Voting Co-opted Members: Two representatives of Voluntary Aided Sector (1) - Mrs J Rammelt/Reverend P Reece Two representatives of Parent Governors (2 year appointments 2002/03 – 2003/04:-(2) Mr H. Epie (Primary)/Mr R. Sutcliffe (Secondary) (4) STRENGTHENING COMMUNITIES SUB-COMMITTEE (7) (3) (4) Members **Janet Cowan** Omar Dharmarajah Vina Mithani Gate Seymour * Thammaiah* (CH) 1. Lavingia 1. Osborn Ш Reserve 2. Toms 2. Kara 3. Lent 3. Anjana Patel Members 4. Ann Groves (5) CALL-IN SUB-COMMITTEE (5) (3) (2) Mitzi Green* (CH) Jean Lammiman * Members Marie-Louise Nolan Osborn Thammaiah II. 1. Blann 1. Seymour 2. Ann Groves 2. Versallion Reserve 3. Lent Members 3. Romain

(6) ACCOUNTS APPROVAL SUB-COMMITTEE (5)

(2)

(3)

<u>l.</u> Members	Blann Ingram (CH) Thammaiah	Pinkus Versallion
II. <u>Reserve</u> <u>Members</u>	 Mitzi Green Marie-Louise Nolan Ann Groves 	1. Osborn 2. Jean Lammiman 3. John Nickolay

(CH) =Chair(VC) =Vice-Chair*Denotes Member for Consultation on Delegated Action and/or administrative matters